Emotional History Task 1


EMOTIONAL HISTORY TASK 1 – JRNL102

AUDIO REPORT: EMILY RITCHIE

INTRO SCRIPT: Driving in the New South Wales National Park is tricky even at the best of times. A snap decision put things into perspective for Rachel who learnt the true risks of being an inexperienced driver in bad weather.

IN: “When it was…”

OUT: “…there at all.”

DUR: 2.00

MUSIC: Maxence Cyrin – “Where Is My Mind”
(https://itunes.apple.com/au/artist/maxence-cyrin/id117052677)


REFLECTION

My emotional history audio piece tells the story of when my friend crashed her car driving down to the National Park during bad weather. It was her first major car accident and it occurred fairly recently so I knew the emotions she felt towards the event were very raw and strong. As mentioned in the lecture, it is important to find a talent who has passion and can convey their emotions very well (McHugh, 2016). My friend spoke very clearly and the audio I recorded was of a high quality as we were able to record in an empty room with the door closed.

By conducting an interview in the form of a narrative, whereby you have your subject tell their story “beat-by-beat” you automatically create narrative tension as listeners want to find out what happens next (Ira Glass, 2016). When conducting the interview, I gave my friend a list of questions to go off but encouraged her to give long answers and tell the story as naturally as possible. As a result, I ended up with a complete story with a beginning, rising action, climax, ending and reflection. While my friend gave me a lot of content to work with, her sentences often ended with a high rising terminal (Collins English Dictionary, 2014). Unfortunately this was something I didn’t notice until I was editing which made it had for her narration to flow. For future reference, I would be cautious to listen out for such vocal “ticks” and would try to get my talent to adjust their voice, in order to make editing easier.

Because there is such a specific and clear story to my emotional history, I felt as though there were many ambient noises I could use. Due to the story particularly focusing on the bad weather, I found a windscreen wiper sound effect. When played with the other audio, the effect sounded muffled and unrecognisable. I decided to not use the windscreen wiper sound as I felt it would be detrimental to the overall ambience of the piece. I chose to use a storm sound effect instead which consisted of cracks of thunder and a mix of light and heavy rain. This audio helped to set the scene of the story, as I wanted listeners to feel as though they were in the car with my friend as she was explaining the weather conditions and crash.

“[Music] sets mood, adds pace, underlines a statement and allows your material to breathe” (McHugh, 2016). My emotional history is a story about fear, regret and danger. I wanted the music I used to reflect these emotions without being too dramatic or cliché. The music I have used is a slow piano instrumental piece. It is predominantly in a low key with singular high notes. Having the music quite low in the background helped the overall flow of the piece and then by increasing the volume in peaks, these high sections were perfect for framing important details of the narrative.

By adding effects such as fade ins and outs to a combination of music and ambient sounds, the piece is transformed from an interview to an emotional experience. I hope when listening to my emotional history, listeners can empathise with the feeling of fear when being in your first car accident, as well as the different stages of emotion in the aftermath of the crash.

REFERENCES

Collins English Dictionary – Complete and Unabridged, 12th Edition 2014, “High rising terminal”, viewed 29 August 2016, http://www.thefreedictionary.com/High+rising+terminal

Cryin, M 2010, Where Is My Mind, song, iTunes, viewed 27 August 2016, https://itunes.apple.com/au/artist/maxence-cyrin/id117052677

Free Stock Photos of Australian 2010, Mount Oberon Road, View from the road up to Mount Oberon, Wilsons Promontory National Park, Free Aussie Stock, viewed 27 August 2016, http://freeaussiestock.com/free/Victoria/Wilsons%20Promontory/slides/mount_oberon_road.htm

Glass, I 2016, Ira Glass on Journalism, Podcast, 11 August, Sydney Opera House Talks and Ideas, viewed 29 August 2016, https://itunes.apple.com/au/podcast/sydney-opera-house-talks-ideas/id640445035?mt=2

McHugh, S 2016, Lecture, Week 2, “Power of Sound Pt. 1: Thinking through your ears”, 1 August 2016.

McHugh, S 2016, Lecture, Week 5, “Layering Sound: The art of the mix”, 22 August 2016.


AUDIO LOG

TIME CONTENT – SUMMARY EVALUATION
0.00

0.22

Introduces name *Muffled
0.30

2.12

Explaining accident ***Clear and detailed
2.20

4.00

Aftermath

  • Telling her parents
  • Getting the car out
  • Parents reaction
**Clear but movement in background
4.05

4.33

“No…I’ve been in minor accidents…but this was the first time I’ve had a major crash” ***
4.42

5.28

How she felt when the accident was happening

“..I just had like a fight or flight moment”

** Clear but ends sentences on high rising terminals
5.36

6.31

Weather condition description

“..the rain was kind of like going sideways it was so heavy”

***
6.40

7.20

Tips for future drivers

“…being a p plater…I thought I was invincible”

** Clear but ends sentences on high rising terminals
7.25 Ambient noise of room
Leave a Reply

